Getting a Card and Circulation Rules
How to get your card
All citizens of Opelika, Alabama can receive a library card with a valid photo ID and proof of residency. Identification includes items such as driverís licenses or state picture I.D. and proof of residency such as a utility bill, checkbook, or paycheck stub. If your state-issued ID has your current Opelika address on it, that is all you need!
For young patrons 3 through 18 years old
Alabama state law considers children under the age of 19 minors. The library requires minors (3-18 years old) living in the same household as their parent(s) to have a parentís signature to obtain a library card.
Persons obtaining cards for their child(ren) must provide parentís proof of ID and residency. Parents are responsible for all materials check out on their childís card.
Patrons who live outside of Opelika may obtain a library card with identification and a fee of $20 every year.
CHILDREN UNDER 12 YEARS OF AGE CANNOT BE LEFT UNATTENDED
- There is a limit of 25 items at a time per card. 5 items may be a DVD or audio book.
- Books and audiobooks are checkouts for two weeks and may be renewed three times if not reserved by another patron.
- Best sellers check out for one week with no renewals.
- DVDs checkout for one week with no renewals.
- Only 5 DVDs and audiobooks can be checked out per card.
- Children may only check out 1 DVD and 1 Audiobook per card.
- Requests are taken only on materials that are listed in the catalog.
- Books that are no more than seven days overdue may be renewed by phone or via Internet.
- A fine of 25 cents per day per item is charged for overdue materials.
- There is a $1.00 fine for placing audios or DVDs in the book drop. DVDs and audiobooks are placed in the drop labeled audio/visuals only.
- A fee of $2.50 will be charged for the replacement of a lost or damaged card.
- Items that are kept over 90 days or more will be charged to the patron.
- If a patronís residence is temporary, a $25 deposit is required.
- Library privileges are suspended if a minor family member has overdue materials or unpaid fines of $5.00 or more.
For the full policy manual, CLICK HERE.